K_CHICO - interview du 30/05/12

Publié le par eastrip

http://i1.sndcdn.com/artworks-000011610368-79ko1z-crop.jpg

 

1 - Can you tell us a Tell us little about your background? Where did you grow up, and where are you based now?

I live and work in Berlin. I traveled a lot, but I think Berlin is one of the most interesting cities for musicians right now. Lets see what it next.

 

2 - What originally enticed you to start making music?

I found my dads guitar in the attic and just started playing. The other thing was the DJing. By accident I played in a local club at prime time on the main floor. The energy of raving people cought me.

 

3 - How would you describe your music?

Electronic dance music for advanced users.

 

4 - Did you have any mentors when you were starting out? Who helped you get heard and established?

Oh there where many people trying to tell me do this do that. Than you can play here and there - Then I can get you a booking. I somehow just had to find my own style or sound. Then some people liked what I do and took me under their wing. “The Teichmann Brothers“ took me onto their label Festplatten and the DJ team “Des Wahnsinns Fette Beute” dragged me into the Bar 25 and other clubs.

 

5 - When did you first feel that you had finally discovered your own specific sound?

I don’t know - its still evolving though.

 

6 - Where do you look for inspiration when you’re starting on a new track?

Actually it is enough to date the wrong girls, but yes… I like my studio and sounds, grooves and melodies just come around like that. Its hard work, but it pays.

 

7 - How long does a track typically take you to make?

2 days to 5years. Everything is possible.

 

8 - Could you name three tracks that you think were particularly influential for your own style?

No, really I can not. Its just to many. I hear stuff, I like stuff, I forget stuff… when this groove or melody occurs somehow similar in my studio I think “I know that from somewhere - nevermind, lets do it, I like it”

 

9 - What’s your studio like?

I like it vintage, I like it simple and its cotta be cosy. I like soldering on vintage gear and like guitars. In Ableton Live everything flows together, but it mostely comes from instruments or external hardware.

 

10 - Do you play any instruments?

What does play mean? What is an instrument? I am not perfect on any instrument, yet I get sounds out of most of them. Guitars I like.

 

11 - When playing live, what are you using for your performances?

Right now I am using a drummer. When I say play harder he plays harder, when I say louder he plays louder. Besides that, I have a laptop and I play guitars and I sing.

 

12 - What was the best party/gig/festival you’ve ever played, and why?

Oh, I don’t want to insult no club/festival/party to be not my best gig ever. I like music and I try to perform it well and its perfect when it resonates with people.

 

13 - When you’re not making or playing/making music, what’s your preferred pastime?

Love, friends, making Videos, watching Films, martial arts…  hobbies and stuff

 

14 - If you weren’t musicians, what would you be doing with your life?

I where a carpenter

 

15 - What is one thing most people don’t know about you?

Something that they still will not know about me after reading this interview.

 

16 - Where do you think you will be musically in the next few years?

Not telling it part of the plan. I am looking forward to it! Please stay excited!

 

17 - A last word…

Yes!

 

 

Publié dans interviews

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article