KING YOOF - interview du 15/05/12

Publié le par eastrip

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-ymCAdofnzOo/Tf3ujfdLzrI/AAAAAAAAAAU/x-ZcB3XCWC8/s1600/kingyoof1.jpg

 

 

1 - Can you tell us a Tell us little about your background? Where did you grow up, and where are you based now? 

I was born and grown in Lewisham (S.E.London) and grew up around the whole Reggae boom of the early 80's and this was due to my local sound system Saxon sounds.

My Uncle was a big influance in my life and would take me to alot of Reggae concerts like Sun Splash (Crystal palace) then during the early 90's i found rave music and that is when it all started for me.

I am still back in S.E. London but spend most of my time traveling.

 

2 - What originally enticed you to start making music?

Where i am from you either become a builder or a drug dealer and both of which wasnt really appealing to me so when i started going out raving i said to myself that this was my way out.

The main thing i love about what i do is the freedom and to be able to live a life that i want and not how society wants you to live.

 

3 - If you only had time to save one of your own musical relics or pieces of vinyl from imminent danger, which would it be?

hmmm it would have to be my home sound system which consists of Linn amps and speakers + i have a Linn Sondek from the 70's

 

4 - When you’re not playing/making music, what’s your preferred pastime?

I used to Skateboard when i was younger and actually got back into it after not skating for 15 years but only mini ramps as it hurts more when you are older LOL other than that i try educating myself as much as i can reading books or watching online documentary's... i gave up TV years ago and have never looked back.

 

5 - How do you explain your music to your family members?

I dont... they know the score LOL

 

6 - When did you first feel that you had finally discovered your own specific sound?

I am always focused on the sound for a particular project, when i was writing for the Sonz of mecha project i knew that i wanted it to be big and bashy, heavy sounding breaks and basslines but i also knew that it had a short shelf life so when i started making the King Yoof sound i felt it had a more longevity and a wider appeal.

 

7 - Are you the type of musicians who know what kind of track you want to write before you sit down to make it, or do you create music more from a process of experimentation, trial and error?

Im very oldskool and base my tunes around a sample, it could be a vocal hook, some horns etc and build up from there.

The experimenting comes when you have the basic idea laid down and then you can see the endless possibilities.

 

8 - What other producers are you inspired by?

So many producers have inspired me and some of which i have been lucky to work with but the list would be King Jammy's Steelie and Clevie, Sly and Robbie, Remarc, Neil McCellan & Dave Pemberton, Liam Howlett, Lawgivers, Shut up and Dance, Bob James

 

9 - What’s your studio like?

smokey

 

10 - If you weren’t musicians, what would you be doing with your life?

Selling drugs or working on a building site

 

11 - When you perform live, what’s your preferred setup, and how do you work? How would you describe your sets?

I did a live show for the Sonz of Mecha project back in1999 as i wanted to showcase all the old tunes in a live format and brought in a full band.

I was running Ableton live with full midi setup, the drummer would trigger the drums and i would play the leads,basslines,trigger samples and vocalists/guitarists would perform during the show.

The King Yoof project is in more of a soundsystem format with 4 decks/fx and mic + i might bring on one of my vocalists.

I am doing a special Sub Slayers show with Jay Cunning this year which we are debuting at this years Boomtown festival.

 

12 - What records are you currently playing out at the moment?

Anything by Dj Gold, Aries, Jacky Murda, Roomate and im loving Junglist by Dj Madd.

 

13 - Where’s your favorite place to DJ?

So many good places all over the world but you cant beat the vibe of London when its done properly

 

14 - How did you end up on Sub Slayers? 

Ive known Jay Cunning for many years and im sure he will say the same that it was me that gave him his first break into the world of breakbeat as i used to run a radio station called Breaks fm years ago and Jay started out on there.

At the end of 2009 i finished the Sonz of mecha project and wanted to make other music as i was feed up with the way the breaks scene had become.

I started making Dubstep again for J da flex and El-B at Ghost records who i have known since the late 90's and Jay approached me about doing a project for his new label, He said he was just looking for good Bass music and so i wrote King Yoof's International Hi-Fi which blew up over night, the rest is history.

 

15 - Are you morning people or night owls?

I only sleep 4 hours a night and my concept of time has been very messed up and so id say im a 20 hour person.

 

16 - What is one thing most people don’t know about you?

Many things and its gonna stay that way LOL 

 

17 - A last word…

Want to say a massive shout out to everyone that has supported the King Yoof Sound! Big up to my Brother and Tom who are blowing up right now with the Hellfire machina project, Big love to all the Sub Slayers family, shout out to all the KoolLondon management.

 

 

 

Publié dans interviews

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article